Gwinnett Chamber 2016 Board Chairman Takes the Reins


The Gwinnett Chamber introduced its new chairman and board members at its January board meeting.

“It would be impossible to overstate the impact Anthony Rodriguez has and will continue to have on the community,” said Dr. Dan Kaufman, President & CEO of the Gwinnett Chamber. “This transition demonstrates the Chamber’s commitment to long-term succession planning and keeping high caliber, capable leaders at the head of our organization,” said Kaufman. “Anthony’s service to the board spans almost a decade, and during that time he has demonstrated leadership, both as a board member and a prominent community leader. He brings an ideal blend of business acumen and arts and culture expertise to this role.”

Rodriguez has been with the Aurora Theatre since its 1996 inaugural season. He assumed the role of managing director in 1997. In March 1999, he was named producing artistic director and established Aurora Theatre, Inc., along with Co-Founder and Associate Producer Ann-Carol Pence, as a nonprofit organization. Under his leadership, the theater has grown from 120 season subscribers to 5,100 subscribers. His success led to an ABBY Award nomination in 2002 for Arts Professional of the Year. After expanding to Lawrenceville in 2007, Aurora Theatre opened as a $7.5 million complex housing two theaters, rehearsal space and offices. Before being named Chair of the Gwinnett Chamber, Rodriguez served as Chair-Elect and Vice Chair of Arts for the Chamber and Chair of Partnership Gwinnett. He is also a member of Screen Actors Guild, Theatre Communications Group, Duluth Rotary Club and the national steering committee for the Latino Theatre Commons. Rodriguez is a graduate of Marist High School and the University of Georgia with a BFA in Theatre. He also is a graduate of the Atlanta Regional Commission’s Regional Leadership Institute and the National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures’ Leadership Institute.

“My role as producing artistic director of Aurora Theatre is to gather the most talented artists and work with each of their talents to create the finest production possible,” said Chairman Rodriguez. “I can only lead through the lens of my personal experience, so I see my role as Chamber Chair in much the same vein as my role at Aurora Theatre. The fact that the Chamber has an all-star staff and board of directors makes guiding and supporting the Chamber’s initiatives and strategic goals that much easier. What I bring to the table is a unique perspective, background and voice that I believe will resonate with the most diverse county in the Southeast. I’m honored to serve and inspired by the challenge of this opportunity.”

Rodriguez succeeds Randy Dellinger, District Manager, Jackson EMC, who will continue to serve as a director.

New members of the Board for 2016 include:
Tony Powell – Webb, Tanner & Powell P.C.
Dan Campbell – Hire Dynamics
Bert Collins – WestRock
Joy Mitchell – Office Creations
Puja Patel Lea – Troutman Sanders, LLP
Ontario Smith – AT&T
Jodie Huiet – Atlanta Gas Light Company
Carol Morris – Wells Fargo
Kevin O’Brien – Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.
Annie Valenty – Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
Callie Andrews – Eastside Medical Center
Santiago Marquez – Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Representative BJ Pak – Gwinnett Legislative Delegation
Councilman Mark Kiddoo – Gwinnett Municipal Association

For a complete list of the Gwinnett Chamber’s board of directors, click here.