The June 18 runoff election officially concluded this year’s General Primary and Nonpartisan election cycle where voters decided which candidate will represent the party in the general election held November 5. Nonpartisan elections such as school board and judicial seats are also determined in the primary.

In Gwinnett, voters returned to the polls to vote on a handful of seats, including the School Board, State House and Senate, and a judicial seat. Steve Gasper secured the School Board seat for District 3 to replace Dr. Mary Kay Murphy who did not seek re-election. Challenger Rachel Stone narrowly won the District 1 seat over incumbent Karen Watkins. However, the result is within the margin for a recount.

Arlene Beckles, former Norcross City Council Member, won the runoff for House District 96 seat to replace State Representative Pedro Marin who did not seek re-election. As there is no republican candidate running in House District 96, Beckles will be the next District 96 Representative. J. Gregory Howard won the runoff for Senate District 7 and will face incumbent Nabilah Islam Parkes in November. In Senate District 55, Randal Mangham won his runoff race and will face republican candidate Mary Williams Benefield in November. Senate District 55 is currently held by Senate Minority Leader Gloria Butler, who is not seeking re-election.

Tuwanda Rush Williams won the runoff for Gwinnett Judge of Superior Court seat to replace Judge Karen Beyers, who did not seek re-election.

Click here to view the full election results. To view the full elections results in Gwinnett, visit

Translate »