Gwinnett County (METRO ATLANTA) GA – May 20 – The Gwinnett Chamber VALOR Awards, presented by Mobile Communications America and Motorola Solutions, Inc., honored local public safety officials during a ceremony this morning at the Gas South Convention Center. Recipients were recognized for their exceptional acts of bravery and service to the local community.

“The VALOR Awards epitomize the essence of the word ‘champion,’ a key component to the Chamber’s mission when it comes to growing business,” said Nick Masino, President & CEO of the Gwinnett Chamber. “A safe community is paramount to a strong economy, and we are grateful to these amazing men and women for their bravery, commitment, and ‘valor’ here in Gwinnett.”

The event celebrated award winners in nine categories with more than a dozen officers being recognized for their dedication to protect and serve the greater Gwinnett region.

The Medal of Valor – gold, silver, and bronze levels – recognized those individuals who exhibited bravery and heroism in situations of extreme danger, heightened emergency, and/or risk of injury and death.

  • The Gold Medal of Valor was presented to Officer Shawn Humphreys of the Lawrenceville Police Department.
  • The Silver Medal of Valor was awarded to an entire unit from the Gwinnett County Police Department: Corporal Daniel Werner, Master Police Officer William Bohn, Master Police Officer David Delshad, Police Officer Senior David Bautista-Martinez, and Police Officer Senior Alexander Elkins.
  • The Bronze Medal of Valor was given to Police Officer Senior Cameron Turner with the Gwinnett County Police Department.

The Life Saving Award, presented to a public safety professional who acted in a life-threatening situation where an individual’s life was in jeopardy, was given to Officer Aaron Devries of the Snellville Police Department.

Corporal Tracey M. Reed, Gwinnett County Police Department, was awarded the Medal of Merit for her outstanding contributions to the community both on and off the job.

The Public Safety Awards honored those individuals who have performed their jobs with exceptional skill, expertise, innovation, and results. This year, a person, a unit, and a communications officer received this honor.

  • The Public Safety Person of the Year went to Police Officer Senior James Ross with the Gwinnett County Police Department.
  • The Gwinnett County Sheriff’s Office Fugitive Unit received the Public Safety Unit of the Year award.
  • Communications Officer Elizabeth Pizarro with the Gwinnett County Police Department received the Public Safety Communications Officer of the Year award.

Chief Bruce Hedley with the Lilburn Police Department received this year’s Leadership Award for his excellence in community-oriented engagement while fostering a departmental environment that values collaboration and cooperation at the command staff level.

Masino added, “The Gwinnett Chamber congratulates all of this year’s VALOR Award winners and thanks our sponsors for making this amazing event possible.”

To learn more about the VALOR Awards program, go to and for upcoming event information, visit

# # #

About the Gwinnett Chamber

The Gwinnett Chamber serves as the voice for businesses, facilitating quality job growth opportunities while enhancing the community’s vitality and quality of life. The Chamber offers the metro Atlanta business community a wealth of growth opportunity by collaborating with regional partners to drive economic and community development initiatives throughout Georgia. Through its fundamental objectives to help create quality jobs and wealth, strengthen the community, and grow business, the Chamber serves more than 2,500 member companies in metro Atlanta while delivering innovative programs to connect businesses locally, regionally, and globally.

Translate »

Gwinnett Chamber facilities are currently under renovation.