Election season is here, and this year’s focus is on municipalities. Municipal elections are nonpartisan. Only residents who live within the city limits may vote in a municipal election. And the deadline for voter registration in all municipalities is October 9.

The Gwinnett Chamber believes in the importance of civic engagement and participation. Since 2021, the Chamber has made available a municipal elections voter guide with election information that includes details on candidates and important dates to remember in the upcoming elections process.

Every mayor in Gwinnett’s cities who is up for re-election, except for Mayor Tim Dunn of Lilburn, qualified without opposition this year. Mayor Dunn will face two challengers: Former Mayor Johnny Crist and Lilburn resident Mohammed J. Hossain.

Lawrenceville’s two incumbents, Mayor David Still and City Council Member Victoria Jones, qualified unopposed and Bruce Johnson qualified without opposition for City Council Post 1.

Auburn Mayor Linda Blechinger is not seeking re-election. Residents will choose between City Council Member Peggy Langley and Auburn resident Richard E. Roquemore. Duluth Mayor Nancy Harris is also not seeking re-election and City Council Member Greg Whitlock qualified unopposed.

Loganville will have eight candidates vying for three at-large city council seats. City Council Member Bill DuVall is the only incumbent.

Peachtree Corners’ City Council Member Lorri Christopher will not seek re-election. Residents will choose between new candidates Ora B. Douglass and Brent Johnson.

While the Gwinnett Chamber does not endorse political candidates, it does encourage its members to educate themselves about the policy positions of candidates, and is committed to providing information and resources about candidates and their priorities.

Translate »